Thursday, December 31, 2015

Top Ten books read in 2015

Another year is almost over. That means it's time to share what books I read in 2015 were my favorite.

10. Emily books by L.M. Montgomery

Books for self-gifting. (Or, how would you spend an imaginary $50 gift card to your favorite bookstore?):

  If you have followed my blog for a long you know I'm kinda obsessed with all things Anne of Green Gables.  It's not a surprise then that I really enjoyed  L.M. Montgomery's other popular series, the Emily books.
L.M. Montgomery had a way with words that make her books posses a special quality.

9. Across a Star-Swept Sea by Dian Peterfreund


  This Scarlet Pimpernel inspired dystopian is unlike other YA sci-fi. If your looking for a unique and fun read I highly recommend you give this book a try.
Link to my full review here.

8. First Date by Krista McGee

Review of 'First Date' by Krista McGee:

  This is by far the best contemporary YA book I read this year. It's inspired by the life of Esther and her faith in God. A must read for fans of Jenny B. Jones and Kiera Cass.
Link to my full review here.

7. Entwined by Heather Dixon


  This retelling of The Twelve Dancing Princesses is just beautiful. The author is fantastic at writing detailed descriptions, making this a lovely read.
Link to my full review here.

6.  Homecoming by Kate Hasbrouck

5.0/5.0 - Kate Hasbrouck’s debut novel will transport you to the realm of Eden in a way you never expected.  Be on the lookout for this one!:

  I really enjoyed this Christian fantasy. Not only is it unique and adorable, it also portrays a wonderful example of a personal relationship with God.
Link to my full review here.

5. Dreamtreader by Wayne Thomas Batson

ISBN: 9781400323661:

  Dreamtreaders is a contemporary - fantasty crossover. It features a fantastical dream world unlike any other. It also has a great message about temptation and persecution.
Link to my full review here.

4. Shadow Hand by Anne Elisabeth Stengl

Shadowhand - Anne Elisabeth Stengl:

  What can I say? Anne Elisabeth Stengl is a master of writing Fantasy. This book wraps up some plot points found in the previous books in the Tales of Goldstone Wood series nicely.

3. Cress by Marissa Meyer

CRESS by Marissa Meyer (Book Three of the Lunar Chronicles). Read an excerpt and author interview on!:

  This is my favorite book (so far) of  Lunar Chronicles. It's full a great characters and funny humor. Can't wait to see how Winter picks up were this book left off.
Link to my full review here.

2. Golden Daughter by Anne Elisabeth Stengl

Blooming with Books: Golden Daughter Tales of Goldstone Wood 7 By Anne Elisabeth Stengl ~ Review:

  This book features a set characters and setting not previously  found in the other books in this series.  I hope the author will write more books featuring these characters in the future.
Link to my full review here.

1. Safely Home by Randy Alcorn

'Safely Home' by Randy Alcorn. Such a good book!  I couldn't put it down and yes, I cried a lot!:

  This book really changed my perspective of the global church and persecution. It both convicted me and encouraged me in so many ways. I highly recommend this to people of all ages and walks in life.
Link to my full review here.

What about you?
Have you read any of these books?
What are some of your favorite books you read in 2015?

Monday, December 28, 2015

Top ten books on my 2016 TBR.

With 2015 coming to a close, it's time to think about the coming year ahead.
Here are the top ten books that I want to read in 2016.

10. Shadow Key by Wayne Thomas Batson

Search for the Shadow Key (Dreamtreaders) by Wayne Thomas Batson

  I read Dreamtreader several months ago and really , really liked it. I never got around to pick up the sequel. I hope to give it a go in 2016.

9. The Heir by Kiera Cass

Cover Reveals: The Heir, The Summer After You and Me, and MORE:

    The Selection series isn't my favorite. However, there is something about this series that makes it fun to read.
This book has a whole new set of characters, plus some of the characters from the previous books. Who knows, maybe it will be the best in the series so far.

8. Starring Me by Krista McGee

Starring Me by Krista McGee. Sequel to First Date. Another favorite! I LOVE THIS ONE!:

  First Date is such a cute contemporary book. Starring Me is a sequel ,of sorts, to First Date. It sounds like it will be a fun read, as well.

7. Storm Siren by Mary Weber

Great Villainesses In Literature | Mary Weber:

  I have heard so many fantastic things about this book and its sequels from fellow bloggers.  Plus the cover is just wonderful!

6. A Spark Unseen by Sharon Cameron

A Spark Unseen, Sharon Cameron -

  I read A Dark Unwinding at the end of 2014. It ended on a huge  cliff hanger. I meant to purchase this at the beginning of 2015, but never got around to it.

5. Draven's Light by Anne Elisabeth Stengl


  This is the second novella in the Tales of GoldstoneWood series.
It supposed to explain a very important backstory and underlying theme found in the main books in the series.

4. Illusionarium by Heather Dixon

Mini Book Reviews: Illusionarium by Heather Dixon, Jack: The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk, and The Cuckoo's Calling by Robert Galbraith/J.K. Rowling:

  I don't know really know anything about this book. Entwined, Heather Dixon's first and only other book, is a whimsical and well- written read. Hopefully this book will be just as good.

3.  Deluge by Lisa T. Bergren

Deluge by Lisa Tawn Bergren | River of Time, BK#4 | | #YA Historical Fiction #time-travel:

  The River of Time series is one of my top series of all time. It's hard to believe I didn't read this fifth and final book of the series in 2015. I need to give this a read soon.

2. Winter by Marissa Meyer

Winter by Marissa Meyer • November 10, 2015 • Feiwel & Friends

  This book, which concludes the Lunar Chronicles ,was released recently. I can't wait to find out how it ends!

1. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.

TEXT TYPE - FICTION (SF BRO) Jane Eyre  story of  plain-faced, intelligent, and passionate English orphan. Jane is abused by her aunt and cousin and then attends a harsh charity school. Through it all she remains strong and determinedly refuses to allow a cruel world to crush her independence or her strength. Jane becomes a governess who softens the heart of her employer but soon discovers that he's hiding a terrible secret. A masterful story of a woman's quest for freedom and love. (SF BRO):

  This much beloved classic has been on my tbr for two or three years now. I finally started reading it early in the  month. However ,like most classics , it's several hundred pages long. I hope to finish reading it by the end of January.

What about you?
Have you read any of these books?
What are some books you want to read in 2016?

Friday, December 11, 2015

Finding Father Christmas book review

Finding Father Christmas by Robin Jones Gunn.:

Title: Finding Father Christmas - a novella

Author: Robin Jones Gunn

Genre: Christian Christmas Fiction

Miranda Carson spent her childhood traveling with her mother, an actress. Miranda never knew who her father was. The search for his identity brings Miranda to England at Christmas- time. When Miranda finds out the identity of her father it turns her world upside down. Can She find the strength to face the truth?

My thoughts:

Miranda's struggles are dealt with in a honest way. Redemption, truth, and forgiveness are a portrayed in a relatable way.

This story brings an English Christmas-time to life. The descriptions of English traditions and ways of life are just wonderful.

All in all a wonderful Christmas-time read.

My rating: 3

Monday, December 7, 2015

// Monthly Favorites// November 2015

   November was a jam-packed month for me. I didn't get to do as much reading as I would 've liked; because of that I only posted one book review this month.  I'm planning on reading a lot during Christmas break, so be on the look out for reviews in the future.

Without any further ado , here are some of my favorite things from the month of November.

                             // Movies & TV Shows//

// Once Upon a Time season 5//

My @OnceABC S4 Finale poster #TrueLove #SaveASaviour @jenmorrisonlive @colinodonoghue1 @LanaParrilla @sean_m_maguire:   Once Upon a Time Season 5 Poster Marries Evils Old and New:

There's been several plot-twists this season that is taking OUAT to new places. The Mid-season finale aired last night ( which I haven't seen, by the way).I 'm interested to see how this season will wrap up in the spring.

// The Hunger Games : Mockingjay -Part Two//

panchecco:    The Hunger Games - Mockingjay Part 2     Mockingjay Part 2:   New Mockingjay Part 2 poster + tickets on sale October 1st:

 MockingJay: part 2 was emotional and sad.  It was also a wonderfully made film and a great end to the Hunger Games films. I hope to re-watch the other films in this series soon.

// The Heirs//

The Heirs:            Kim Woo Bin, Lee Min Ho and Park Shin Hye ♡ #Kdrama - “HEIRS" / "THE INHERITORS" //:

This K-Drama stars some of Korea's most popular and talented actors. Because of that, it's a high quality drama with a good storyline. If you're new to K-Dramas and are looking for a emotional and romantic show , give this one a watch.

                                         // Music//

// The Voyage , by Amanda Cook //

Amanda Cook quote from The Voyage   "What you make of this moment changes everything." // The Voyage // Amanda Cook // Brave New World

This song is a great reminder that God will faithfully guide you as you do His will.

// Luhan's music//

Luhan is a former member of the kpop group , EXO. He recently started his own solo career in China.  Luhan's songs , Promises and Medals, are  beautiful. They also have thought - provoking music videos, as well.

                                // Miscellaneous//

Psalm 63

Psalm 63:1:   Psalm 63:3-4, “Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you. I will praise you as long as I live...:

I was skimming through my Bible a few a weeks ago when I stopped at this Psalm. It's a wonderful description of our desire to be closer to God and how to rest in His presence.

What about you?

What did you enjoy in
the month of November?

Monday, November 30, 2015

The Selection Stories : The Prince & The Guard book review

‘The One’ EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal: Look Who’s Wearing White!:

Title: The Selection stories: The Prince & The Guard

Series: The Selection series

Number in series : 0 (Novellas)

Author: Kiera Cass

 These two novellas show Maxon and Aspen's perspective on The Selection and their relationship with America.
In The Prince , Maxon is extremely nervous about The Selection. Once it's starts , he is unsure of when and who he will choose to be his wife. When Maxon meets America , he is struck by how honest and real she is. Maxon wonders if America might be the one.
In The Guard Aspen is enjoying the life of a soldier in the Palace. After witnessing Maxon and America's closeness, Aspen begins to doubt he and America's future. Aspen will do whatever it takes to keep America by his side.

My thoughts:
I really enjoyed these two Selection novellas. The main books in the series focus on America's experiences during The Selection.
So, it was interesting to see how Maxon and Aspen's lives were also affected by The Selection. After reading both novellas I think I understand Maxon and Aspen better.
These books are defiantly worth a read if you like The Selection series.

My rating: 3