Thursday, December 31, 2015

Top Ten books read in 2015

Another year is almost over. That means it's time to share what books I read in 2015 were my favorite.

10. Emily books by L.M. Montgomery

Books for self-gifting. (Or, how would you spend an imaginary $50 gift card to your favorite bookstore?):

  If you have followed my blog for a long you know I'm kinda obsessed with all things Anne of Green Gables.  It's not a surprise then that I really enjoyed  L.M. Montgomery's other popular series, the Emily books.
L.M. Montgomery had a way with words that make her books posses a special quality.

9. Across a Star-Swept Sea by Dian Peterfreund


  This Scarlet Pimpernel inspired dystopian is unlike other YA sci-fi. If your looking for a unique and fun read I highly recommend you give this book a try.
Link to my full review here.

8. First Date by Krista McGee

Review of 'First Date' by Krista McGee:

  This is by far the best contemporary YA book I read this year. It's inspired by the life of Esther and her faith in God. A must read for fans of Jenny B. Jones and Kiera Cass.
Link to my full review here.

7. Entwined by Heather Dixon


  This retelling of The Twelve Dancing Princesses is just beautiful. The author is fantastic at writing detailed descriptions, making this a lovely read.
Link to my full review here.

6.  Homecoming by Kate Hasbrouck

5.0/5.0 - Kate Hasbrouck’s debut novel will transport you to the realm of Eden in a way you never expected.  Be on the lookout for this one!:

  I really enjoyed this Christian fantasy. Not only is it unique and adorable, it also portrays a wonderful example of a personal relationship with God.
Link to my full review here.

5. Dreamtreader by Wayne Thomas Batson

ISBN: 9781400323661:

  Dreamtreaders is a contemporary - fantasty crossover. It features a fantastical dream world unlike any other. It also has a great message about temptation and persecution.
Link to my full review here.

4. Shadow Hand by Anne Elisabeth Stengl

Shadowhand - Anne Elisabeth Stengl:

  What can I say? Anne Elisabeth Stengl is a master of writing Fantasy. This book wraps up some plot points found in the previous books in the Tales of Goldstone Wood series nicely.

3. Cress by Marissa Meyer

CRESS by Marissa Meyer (Book Three of the Lunar Chronicles). Read an excerpt and author interview on!:

  This is my favorite book (so far) of  Lunar Chronicles. It's full a great characters and funny humor. Can't wait to see how Winter picks up were this book left off.
Link to my full review here.

2. Golden Daughter by Anne Elisabeth Stengl

Blooming with Books: Golden Daughter Tales of Goldstone Wood 7 By Anne Elisabeth Stengl ~ Review:

  This book features a set characters and setting not previously  found in the other books in this series.  I hope the author will write more books featuring these characters in the future.
Link to my full review here.

1. Safely Home by Randy Alcorn

'Safely Home' by Randy Alcorn. Such a good book!  I couldn't put it down and yes, I cried a lot!:

  This book really changed my perspective of the global church and persecution. It both convicted me and encouraged me in so many ways. I highly recommend this to people of all ages and walks in life.
Link to my full review here.

What about you?
Have you read any of these books?
What are some of your favorite books you read in 2015?


  1. Awesome list! I've read some of these, and others are on my TBR list. Like "First Date." I've been eyeing that one for awhile, but just haven't gotten around to it. Maybe 2016 will be the year.
    I've also been interested in the "Emily" series. I actually have two of them, but need the first one. Again, maybe 2016...
    Happy New Year, Ella! :-D

  2. Happy New Year to you, too! 'First Date' is a fun read. The 'Emily' books are different fro! the 'Anne' books, but are special in their own way.

  3. Goodness! How DID I miss this!? (And here we are already three months into 2016... yikes!) Anyway, First Date looks fun and I adore Krista's writing, so I'm sure I'll enjoy that. Also, someday I should read L.M. Montgomery novels because CLASSIC! :)

    1. This year is already going by sooo fast.

      I haven't read any other books by Krista McGee besides 'First date'. I 've heard her other books are great, though.

      L.M.Montgomery's books are the perfect type of classic books.