Wednesday, October 29, 2014

My Top 5 Underrated Books

After watching 12+ youtubers sharing their favorite underrated books I got inspired to share my top books I don't think are talked about enough.

5. Prom and Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg

Prom and Prejudice ****

This is such a cute book.  A must read for fans of Pride and Prejudice.

You can read my full review here.

4.   Jane and the unpleasantness at Scargrave Manor by Stephanie Barron.

Reader recommendation: Jane and the Unpleasantness at Scargrave Manor

This is the first book in the Jane Austen Mystery series.
Not only is this one of the best murder mysteries I have read, but it also has Jane Austen solving the mystery.  How cool, right?

You can read my full review here.

3.  The Scarlet Pimpernel books by Baroness Emmuska Orczy

This is a book that takes place during the French Revolution about the elusive Scarlet Pimpernel and his plots to save the French Nobility from the guillotine.

The movie adaptation has a huge fan base, but I haven't heard many people talk about the books.

I have read the first two books in this series and thoroughly enjoyed the action, drama, and romance found in these well written stories.

You can read my full reviews of  The Scarlet Pimpernel here and I Will Repay here.

2.   The Viking Quest series by Lois Walfred Johnson

Viking Quest Series Lois Walfrid Johnson I LOVE this series:)

Brianna O ' Toole lives in ancient Ireland during a time when Vikings are plundering the country side.
    Brianna is kidnapped by Mikkel, a cruel, young Viking, and is made to be a slave.

Can Brianna overcome her struggles and find her way back home?

When I was a tween I loved this series so much that I read all five books three times each in a two year or so time period.

 I know of only a few people who have read this fantastic series.
I think most tweens and those in their early teens would enjoy this series.

1.   The Inheritance by Louisa May Alcott

The Inheritance   by Louisa May Alcott


Edith Adelon, an orphan, is a paid companion to Amy Hamilton, who comes from a rich family.
   Lady Ida Clare, a rich relative of the Hamiltons' comes to stay. Lady Ida soon grows jealous of Edith because Lord Percy is fond of Edith.
  Will Lady Ida ruin Edith's chance of happiness?

Although the author of this book is famous and the movie version of this book is popular among period drama fans I haven't really heard anyone talk about this book.

I highly recommend this to those who enjoy reading classics.

Have you read any of these books?

Do you have any books or series that you think are underrated?

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Cinder book review

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles Series #1) ..If you want a crazy twist on some well known Fairy Tales then read this series. I have Loved them!

Title: Cinder

Series: The Lunar Chronicles

Number in series: 1

Author: Marissa Meyer

Genre: Young Adult Science Fiction

Plot:  Cinder, a mechanic, lives in New Beijing with her stepmother and two stepsisters. Cinder is a cyborg, which makes her outcast in society. Her only friends are her droid, Iko, and her stepsister Peony.
  When Prince Kai asks Cinder to fix his droid, Cinder is thrown into a world of secrets and intrigue.  As Cinder learns of some scary truths she is in danger of hurting those around her.

What I liked about this book:

This was such a interesting book!!!
  The way the author made a well known fairytale into a YA Sci-Fi was brilliant.  I am excited to see how she will incorporate other fairytales into this series.

 The characters were well rounded. The main characters were quirky and funny.  The evil characters were thoroughly wicked and despicable.

The plot was based on Cinderella, but it felt like a new story. It didn't end like I thought it was going to ( in a good way:).

What I didn't like about this book:

There is some content;  Mild swearing and a few innuendoes.
It is hinted at that  certain types of androids are prostitutes.

My rating: 3

Saturday, October 18, 2014

I Will Repay book review

I Will Repay - Although the Scarlet Pimpernel does not feature heavily in this sequel, his daring rescue of the innocents will still thrill and excite readers. Plus, you don't want to miss the story of a girl, sworn to revenge, who finds love in the most unlikely of places - the man whom she is sworn to kill.

Title: I Will Repay

Series: The Scarlet Pimpernel books

Number in series: 2

Author: Baroness Emmuska Orczy

Genre: Historical Fiction

  Juliette de Marny's brother is killed by Monsiuer Deroulde
in a duel of honor. Juliette's father is heartbroken and makes Juliette promise to avenge her brother's death.
   Ten year later Juliette is rescued from an angry mob in Paris by Deroulde and moves in with Deroulde's mother and ward.
          When a chance comes for Juliette to betray Deroulde, will she take it?

What I liked about this book:

Like the Scarlett Pimpernel this is an adventure book, so there is rarely a dull moment. It 's short, but  very well written.

The characters seemed very real, so they soon became dear to me.  The Scarlett Pimpernel, was defientily my favorite character. He was more cautious and serious in this book than the first book in this series, so it was interesting to see a different side of him.

What I didn't like about this book: Nothing

My rating:  3.5

Monday, October 13, 2014

Pegasus book review

Pegasus - Robin McKinley.  I liked this a lot, but the ending was awfully abrupt.  I trust a sequel is in the works ...

Title: Pegasus

Author : Robin McKinley

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

 When Princess Sylviianel 'Sylvi' turns twelve she is bonded to a pegasus like her ansestors before her. Royalty of Balsinland are bonded to a Pegasus to ensure foreign relations between humans and pegasi stay healthy.
  Sylvi is bonded to a black pegasus named Ebon. Their relationship is unusual because they can talk to each other without a translater, something that hasn't happened before to any human and pegasus.  As Sylvi and Ebon grow closer they learn that not everyone is happy about they realtionship.

What I liked about this book:
 This is a very interesting and complex books.
There are  many characters and subplots that showcase the author's imagination nicely.
  The characters soon become familiar and seem very real at times.
It's easy to sympathize and relate to both Sylvi and Ebon.
   The subplots keep the story moving and changing.

What I didn't like about this book:
   This was a pretty long book ( 404 pages to be exact).
Some parts dragged on , which made me wish that the author had cut out a few scenes that weren't necessary to the plot line.
There were also a lot of flashback scenes to past events, which could get annoying at times.

There is some content in it also; there are a few mild cuss words and a very subtle reference to homosexual relationships between pegasi. Magic and spells are part of the plotline.

My rating: 2

Monday, October 6, 2014

A Gentlemen of Her Dreams e-novella review

Free Book - Gentleman of Her Dreams, a Ladies of Distinction novella by Jen Turano, is free in the Kindle store and from Kobo and ChristianBook, courtesy of Christian publisher Bethany House. This novella is a companion to A Change of Fortune, Jen Turano's full-length debut novel, which will be released at the first of November.

Title: A Gentlemen of Her Dreams : a novella

Series: Ladies of Distinction Series

Number in series: 0 ( it's kind of a prequel to the first book in this series)

Genre: Christian Historical fiction

Plot:  Charlotte Wilson is a headstrong young woman who tends to get in mischief often.  
  When Charlotte's childhood friend Henry St. James comes back home she enlists him in her latest scheme. Charlotte believes God is calling her to marry Hamilton Beckett, the most eligible bachelor in New York City. The only problem is that Charlotte has never formally meet Mr. Beckett, but believes that Henry will introduce her to Mr. Beckett.
 Will Charlotte's plan work out the way she hopes?

What I liked about this book:
 This book was extremely funny.
Charlotte's mischievousness gets her and Henry into many comical situations that had me laughing out loud often.

 This book is also very sweet. The ending is cute and explained some of the events that happened in  A Change of Fortune, the first book in the Ladies of Distinction series.

What I didn't like about this book: Nothing!

My rating : 4

NOTE: You can get this e- novella for free on