Wednesday, October 29, 2014

My Top 5 Underrated Books

After watching 12+ youtubers sharing their favorite underrated books I got inspired to share my top books I don't think are talked about enough.

5. Prom and Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg

Prom and Prejudice ****

This is such a cute book.  A must read for fans of Pride and Prejudice.

You can read my full review here.

4.   Jane and the unpleasantness at Scargrave Manor by Stephanie Barron.

Reader recommendation: Jane and the Unpleasantness at Scargrave Manor

This is the first book in the Jane Austen Mystery series.
Not only is this one of the best murder mysteries I have read, but it also has Jane Austen solving the mystery.  How cool, right?

You can read my full review here.

3.  The Scarlet Pimpernel books by Baroness Emmuska Orczy

This is a book that takes place during the French Revolution about the elusive Scarlet Pimpernel and his plots to save the French Nobility from the guillotine.

The movie adaptation has a huge fan base, but I haven't heard many people talk about the books.

I have read the first two books in this series and thoroughly enjoyed the action, drama, and romance found in these well written stories.

You can read my full reviews of  The Scarlet Pimpernel here and I Will Repay here.

2.   The Viking Quest series by Lois Walfred Johnson

Viking Quest Series Lois Walfrid Johnson I LOVE this series:)

Brianna O ' Toole lives in ancient Ireland during a time when Vikings are plundering the country side.
    Brianna is kidnapped by Mikkel, a cruel, young Viking, and is made to be a slave.

Can Brianna overcome her struggles and find her way back home?

When I was a tween I loved this series so much that I read all five books three times each in a two year or so time period.

 I know of only a few people who have read this fantastic series.
I think most tweens and those in their early teens would enjoy this series.

1.   The Inheritance by Louisa May Alcott

The Inheritance   by Louisa May Alcott


Edith Adelon, an orphan, is a paid companion to Amy Hamilton, who comes from a rich family.
   Lady Ida Clare, a rich relative of the Hamiltons' comes to stay. Lady Ida soon grows jealous of Edith because Lord Percy is fond of Edith.
  Will Lady Ida ruin Edith's chance of happiness?

Although the author of this book is famous and the movie version of this book is popular among period drama fans I haven't really heard anyone talk about this book.

I highly recommend this to those who enjoy reading classics.

Have you read any of these books?

Do you have any books or series that you think are underrated?


  1. The first two books I have never heard of. I read the first few Viking Quest Books and I have heard of but never read The Scarlet Pimpernel or The Inheritance. I did however watch the 1997 movie of The Inheritance and I really liked it.

    1. Glad someone else has heard of these books.

      Did you like Viking Quest when you read it? Just curious:)

  2. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    1. Sorry your comment has been removed. I was trying to hide your comment because you didn't want it published and it deleted it.
      If you could leave this comment again that would be great!

  3. Someday I'll read Prom and Prejudice and aw, I love the movies of 'Pimpernel' as well as 'The Inheritance.' Both are great. :)

    1. Glad you like both movie adaptations too:)

  4. I haven't heard of any of these books! They all sound interesting though!

    1. Thanks Laura!
      It fun to here of new books :)